Seeing Platterson! - Reisverslag uit Liverpool, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nadia Beijer - WaarBenJij.nu Seeing Platterson! - Reisverslag uit Liverpool, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nadia Beijer - WaarBenJij.nu

Seeing Platterson!

Door: nadiainliverpool

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nadia

16 Mei 2011 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Liverpool

The title might not make much sense, yet. Don’t despair! I will explain it as I go along. (see what I’m doing here? I’m making you all curious! :p)

My last blog stopped after I posted my travel and essay schedules. My biggest essay (3,500 words) was due April 30th and right after that was my planned trip to London, Bath and Oxford!
The essay was for film theory and I finished and submitted it on time. So no worries for me before leaving for that trip!
Before I went to London, however, my friend from home came over for a few days. I showed her around Liverpool, it was fun!
Now, as you may have read before, or noticed in the schedule, I visited London before, in February. That was with a big group of people from Aigburth. This time it was just Naomi, my friend from Belgium, and myself. We got to London on Monday May 2nd and, after checking into our hostel, we wandered about London. We went to Buckingham palace where everything was still up for the Royal Wedding, three days prior. The flags, banners, posters, fences, scaffolding, extra maintenance buildings and even the horse’s poop was all clearly visible. The place was full of people, who were getting rid of everything. That was fun to see, I mean, how many people can say that they walked in the middle of the roads in London?!
After this we walked back to our hostel to wait until it was time to leave.
Leave for what? The Water for Elephants London Premiere! That’s what! We left after midnight to wait in the freezing cold. We went without sleep for about 48 hours and it was totally worth it! We got to see Robert Pattinson (YES, he is HOT up close), Reese Witherspoon, Christoph Waltz, and the director of the film Francis Lawrence. All four of them signed my Water for Elephants book and I took a lot of photo’s.

Now the title of this blog is related to this day. Naomi’s mum knew where we were going, naturally, but she did not quite remember the name of one of the actors. So she asked if we were going to see Mr. Platterson. Immediately after hearing this an image of a Rob Pattinson Southpark character with a flat head appeared in my head, as plat means flat in Dutch!
This story is probably not as funny now, but that’s because you’re missing the mental image and the situation! It cracked us up!
Anyway, we got a long night’s sleep after this to be slightly awake enough for the next day.
That morning we left for Bath! We had counted on being there for a whole day and probably not have enough time to see everything we wanted to see, but we were really disappointed! We had a lot of time left before our train would take us back to London, and there was nothing to do!
Fortunately, the next day made up for it! We got to Oxford and did have a lot of fun there!
This week was a bit of an unlucky week for us, when talking about trains. Every train we got on was delayed. On our way back from Bath, some drunks had been causing trouble, and we had to wait for an hour. Back from oxford the train suddenly stopped and lost power, another half hour of waiting. Finally going back from London to Liverpool took 45 minutes longer as well! Resulting in us having to run for the last bus.
After we got back to Liverpool we went to see the film Water for Elephants! It was just as good as the book! Truly, read the book, it's fantastic!
That Saturday, Carola and her friend from Norway visited me! They stayed until Sunday and it was great spending time with them and catching up!
When they left, I got ready to leave as well. That evening we (me and three others) would be flying to Barcelona!
We stayed in Barcelona from Sunday night until Wednesday evening. I did not like it as much as I thought I would. There were creepy guys everywhere! I was constantly watching my bags and everyone around me because I was worried I’d be robbed. Another fact that contributed to my not liking Barcelona was our hostel. We had to stay in a small room with 20 people, while we had booked a room for 12 and we could not leave our bags in the room. Someone warned us that it would get stolen. Fan-bloody-tastic! I was already paranoid.

When we arrived in Rome however, my spirits were lifted. Rome was amazing! I am an incredible history freak so seeing the remains of the Roman empire was brilliant! Our hostel was also amazing! It was a camping! We stayed in a bungalow! Rome I would definitely visit again!
There was one day that we spent at the beach... yeah... as most of you are well aware I am an almost albino. So I got a really bad sunburn, which forced me to wear jeans and a long sleeved blouse from then on. The sun was so warm, I felt like I was melting! The painful burning itself was gone when I returned to Liverpool, but then the itching and peeling set in... it’s really nasty!

I was kind of glad to come back to Liverpool, because we walked so much that I was exhausted and needed sleep. There is one thing I would have wanted to bring with me from Rome and that’s the sun! We arrived in Liverpool and it was your typical dreary, windy, dark and cold English weather. YUCK!

(Un)fortunately I had three essays to finish before Tuesday 17th. So the weather did not bother me, because I was inside my room doing my essays anyway!
I managed to finish all of them Monday! I am now taking a three week holiday! My first destination will be Brighton! I am a bit anxious for the long train ride (almost 5 hours), but I’m also really excited to catch up with Hannah and Chelsea!!
I’ll probably write another blog after I return from Brighton, but I’m not sure because when I return Thursday evening I have to pick up Gijs from John Lennon Airport. I can’t wait!

xxxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Nadia

Actief sinds 22 Nov. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 400
Totaal aantal bezoekers 24971

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Februari 2012 - 03 Maart 2012

Liverpool project

30 November 2011 - 30 November 2011

Holiday adventures

09 Januari 2011 - 10 Juni 2011

Liverpool

Landen bezocht: