Exciting weeks - Reisverslag uit Liverpool, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nadia Beijer - WaarBenJij.nu Exciting weeks - Reisverslag uit Liverpool, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nadia Beijer - WaarBenJij.nu

Exciting weeks

Door: nadiainliverpool

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nadia

22 Maart 2011 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Liverpool

Right, I decided it was time for me to post another blog! It has been awhile and a lot of things have happened since then!

I am going to start with Wednesday 9th of March because this is when my mum and sister, Manon, came over! They arrived in the evening and I went to get them from the airport. My mum’s ears would not cease their buzzing.. To say she did not enjoy flying that much would be an understatement! But hé, she still came! We went back to my flat, because we decided they would stay in my room rather than booking into a ho(s)tel. I have plenty of room anyway!

Unfortunately, I had school that Thursday and my mum insisted I go. They said that they didn’t mind waiting in the refectory for two hours, so I took them on the long walk to school to show them a large part of Liverpool. It is a really nice walk.
After my class ended we took the free shuttle bus to the city centre to do some shopping!

To summarise, we went to the world museum and the museum of modern art. Mum and Manon met my friends on the Wirral, that weekend. We also walked through Sefton Park and saw rats chasing a squirrel! The weather was not that great but it was not cold! We had homemade fish and chips as well during this week! First time I had them since I came to England haha! Shame on me! On Sunday it was time to bring them back to John Lennon to fly home again. I had a lot of fun those few days and kind of wished I would be on that plane back home with them.
Photo’s: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2115124&id=1391030387&l=ccf2ffd28b

Immediately after my mum and sister left, I started doing a lot of homework.
Allow me tell you why. I took a class, namely, Major Authors and since we finished all planned Dickens’ novels we switched to Hardy’s. However, this change in authors also promised a change in lecturers. My previous lecturer was, to be very blunt, terrible! He did not actually teach me how to interpret Dickens’ books, nor anything else. I basically slept through his classes... which is not that nice of me I know but it was just that bad!
This new lecturer, on the other hand, ROCKS! I had never thought that I would be so interested in Thomas Hardy’s books, or interpreting literature at all. I enjoy the classes a lot and have read all of the books so far. Though, the man is really good, he is a bit of a demon lecturer because he picks on people and asks them to analyse the book right there in class.

Another important school fact is that I submitted my first essay this week; a 3000 word one. (it turned into an almost 4000 word one :o so I had to edit carefully) It was for my Leisure: Theory and Practice class. I had to analyse the difference between leisure facilities, one in the public sector and one in the commercial sector. For this essay I went with my class on a field trip to Manchester! We visited Manchester United and The Imperial War Museum North. It was a really nice day. I am the only international student in that class so it was great talking to the locals all day! Besides that, I love that class! It is really interesting!
Here is the link with the photo’s of that day: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2115005&id=1391030387&l=68f077274e

For now, it’s back to writing essays because I have another deadline coming up next week! This one is about Darles Chickens :D!

Okay, enough about homework and school!

Guess what! I went with the international organisation on another field trip! This one was to the English Lake District. It was unbelievably amazing to see what I saw there and climb those mountains. I felt like an energetic child running up and down the mountains and climbing anything that was not path. After that my friend from Hong Kong, Shiri and I, shared a portion of real English made fish and chips! It was really good!
Of course, I uploaded those photo’s as well: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2115012&id=1391030387&l=0322829656

I will leave you with one final note; this is what my travelling schedule looks like for now:
30 March – 2 April = Dublin
11 – 19 April = Home, Velp
20 April = daytrip to York
2 – 5 May = London, Bath and Oxford trip
9 – 15 May = Barcelona and Rome trip

These are only the trips that I booked yet. More shall follow shortly, because I am going to Birmingham in April, Brighton and Belfast in May!

See ya! xx

  • 22 Maart 2011 - 13:31

    Carola:

    sounds lovely hun! Glad to hear you're enjoying it, and I know what you mean with wishing you could get on that plane home... But hey you're going back in April, yay! Andddd you're going to visit me in May woohooo, can't wait to travel around Belfast en Ireland with you! We'll have to do a skypedate soon!
    Enjoy it every single day love!

    xxx

  • 11 April 2011 - 10:22

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Nadia,

    You appear to be a real 'travelling beast' -:) if I may put it bluntly like that! And in the mean time you seem to be able to write 3/4000-word essays on Dickens, Hardy and Leisure! My compliments! Hope your new lecturer will be able to 'infuse' you with a lot of interesting background knowledge of dear Thomas Hardy! enjoy, take care,
    Jan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Nadia

Actief sinds 22 Nov. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 440
Totaal aantal bezoekers 24977

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Februari 2012 - 03 Maart 2012

Liverpool project

30 November 2011 - 30 November 2011

Holiday adventures

09 Januari 2011 - 10 Juni 2011

Liverpool

Landen bezocht: