My first steps - Reisverslag uit Liverpool, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nadia Beijer - WaarBenJij.nu My first steps - Reisverslag uit Liverpool, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nadia Beijer - WaarBenJij.nu

My first steps

Door: nadiainliverpool

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nadia

11 Januari 2011 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Liverpool

It’s been a while since my last blog. A lot of things have happened since then.

Let’s just start at the beginning; My flight was scheduled on Sunday 9th. I was so worried all day about forgetting important things, losing my suitcase and missing my flight and, basically, panicking for nothing!
I arrived at the airport two hours before my flight was supposed to take off and arrived on time at John Lennon airport, Liverpool.
It took me an hour to get inside because of strict border control and, let me tell you, that was not at all pleasant, because it was freezing and too noisy outside!

After I did manage to get through the border control, I walked to the belts to collect my suitcase (panicking because in my mind I was sure MY bag had been lost during the flight, but it was actually the first to arrive!) and after that I walked outside.
I got into a taxi which was uneventful and took about half an hour.

Eventually I got to my room! I opened the door and it was great! The room is spacious and has plenty of closet space to store things xD. Suzanne and I decided to eat at MacDonalds, because the stores were all closed… pity that… (a).

The rest of the evening I spent unpacking my bag and getting comfy.

Monday morning I met my flatmates (most of them exchange students) and they are all really nice and welcoming! After that we went to school to get all sorts of things settled and sorted out.

At 2pm I had to meet with a very nice lady who is an advisor for students with disabilities, when I read that on the sign I felt chagrined; Hi, welcome disabled person! But then I met Judith, and she’s really nice! She made me feel comfortable immediately. I spoke with her for about an hour to set up a learning plan for the upcoming five months.
Turns out having ADHD is actually a good thing at Hope :p. I have all sorts of extra “benefits” to help me concentrate and pass my exams!

Eventually everything at Hope had been taken care of and we wanted to go home. Instead of waiting for the shuttle bus (schedule below) we, Suzanne and I, decided to walk......
..............
aaand three hours later and we were still walking!!! After having seen some things a few times we decided to ask for directions. We did make it home in the end, so it was a good exercise :p.

It was dinnertime by the time we got back and we decided to bake Dutch pancakes.
After that we chatted with flatmates and just had a good time!

That was Monday and now on to Tuesday.

Tuesday was the day off. Suzanne and I decided to go to Liverpool city centre and do some serious shopping. Oh yeah! I bet some of you can feel this coming: Primark has been located and thoroughly inspected by me!! I found a great present for my mom too! (photo)

After that I withdrew to my room to try and prepare for my lessons tomorrow: The first day as an exchange student at Hope University Liverpool! Hope I can find my way around and understand what’s being said in the lectures.

Well that’s it for now,
Until my next blog!
See ya! xx

Shuttlebus schedule (makes no sense at all :s)
From Aigburth Park to Hope Park
(home to school)
8.30 am
12.00 am

From Hope Park to Aigburth Park
(school to home)
16.05
18.05
That's it! Does that make sense to you? No? It doesn't to me either!

  • 11 Januari 2011 - 19:31

    Carola:

    Haha super! leuk om te lezen en fijn dat je t naar je zin hebt, nu al. die koepyjama heb ik ook in belfast gezien, geniaal is het niet ;P eigenlijk moet ik em ook kopen hahaha just for fun... have fun tomorrow! blijf je blogs lezen :)

  • 11 Januari 2011 - 20:36

    Danielle:

    De koe pyjama!!!!! Mega vet!!:D die hebben ze hier in Belfast ook! Reminds me of the old days when I used to wear those pyjamas! ;) Fijn dat je het zo naar je zin hebt! Ik blijf je volgen!:D

    xx Daan

  • 11 Januari 2011 - 21:04

    Marijn:

    Hey Nadia! Wat een mooie kamer! Nou gelukkig zijn jullie aangekomen én heb je je tas mee kunnen krijgen ;) Ik moest me zowat half uitkleden om door de douane te komen, had jij dat ook? Veel plezier de komende dagen :D!!!

  • 11 Januari 2011 - 21:05

    Marijn:

    Oja, trouwens... de bustijden zijn overal echt idioot! Hier in Walsall/Birmingham kloppen ze niet, of rijden er geen bussen als het wel staat aangegeven.. vervelend, maar ook wel grappig eigenlijk! ;)

  • 11 Januari 2011 - 22:21

    Riëtte:

    haha in ieder geval warme voetjes :)

  • 11 Januari 2011 - 22:45

    Chelsea:

    Hey! Goed om te lezen en je kamer ziet er goed uit! Daar kunnen Hannah en ik makkelijk komen logeren:) Leuk cadeau! Succes morgen op school, ben benieuwd wat je er van vind. xxx

  • 11 Januari 2011 - 22:50

    Je Schatje:

    haha natuurlijk heb je meteen de hele primark leeg gekocht :P de koe pyjama isa wel echt geweldig...

    ben heel benieuwd voor als ik langskom hoe het allemaal is daar... 1e keer engeland voor mij :O dus ga maar vast plannen wat je mij allemaal gaat laten zien ;)

    xjes

  • 11 Januari 2011 - 23:52

    Irene:

    Klinkt goed Nadia en een mooie kamer zo te zien!! geniet ervan :D

  • 12 Januari 2011 - 00:08

    :

    Hey, I came across your site and I saw that you have exactly the same room as I have! So I guess you're also one of the exchange students at Hope! =) If I'm not mistaken I already met a friend of yours, Suzanne?

  • 12 Januari 2011 - 23:45

    Priscilla Aalbers:

    Kamer ziet er zeeeeer nice uit! :) Ben je dus goed terecht gekomen :P Have fun and keep us posted! :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Nadia

Actief sinds 22 Nov. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 252
Totaal aantal bezoekers 25007

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Februari 2012 - 03 Maart 2012

Liverpool project

30 November 2011 - 30 November 2011

Holiday adventures

09 Januari 2011 - 10 Juni 2011

Liverpool

Landen bezocht: